CN Police

Post your suggestions to the editor for possible stories you would like to see in an upcoming issue Blue Line Magazine.
SébR.
Rookie Member

CN Police

Postby SébR. » Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:22 pm

I would be interested in learning about CN Police.
I'm a cop in Montréal (yes a frog ;) , that like your forum!). The other day I have had a mini-pursuit against a dodge magnum, and it ending up in in the back of a CN police squad car.

I never really know what were their functions and tasks, nor their history! That could be a good subjet (according to me that is)!

Thanks a lot

SÉB.
MONTRÉAL P.D.

p.s. Pardon my english mistakes! As you can see, "je parle Français!" :D

T.M.DIESEL
King Poobah

Postby T.M.DIESEL » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:10 pm

I would help out but RailCop is the expert on this subject so I will let him strut his stuff. ;)

Was also an article in Blueline Magazine about CN Police, lots of history behind it and an interesting service.
"Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards." -- Unknown

A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to
take everything you have.--Thomas Jefferson

SébR.
Rookie Member

Postby SébR. » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:40 pm

Do you know when this article was publish?

Game Face
Rookie Member

Postby Game Face » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:46 pm

History of the CN Police
In the late 19th century, rail lines and property in Canada were located all over the country. Increases in crimes such as armed hold-ups and hijackings made the need for system-wide policing more apparent.
After many years of lobbying the Federal Government, the railway companies operating in Canada were successful in establishing their own Police Departments. Railway police officers, incorporated into the initial Railway Act of Canada in 1860, had similar powers of arrest and enforcement as those granted to other federal and provincial police departments.