CBSA to RCMP

Discuss the educational and physical requirements, testing process and background phase involved in the hiring process. Includes the experiences and advice of current and past applicants. All agency application related questions belong here.

Moderators: Respond Wayne, Pete Broccolo, opp2, CourtOfficer

NYTO
Rookie Member

CBSA to RCMP

Postby NYTO » Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:02 am

Hey everyone,

I was hoping for a little advice from this with a different point of view, and anyone who has made the transition and a friend suggested I post here.

I'm currently a Border Services Officer for the CBSA and have been offered a troop date with the RCMP. I was wondering if making the jump is worth it. I've come up with a list of PROS and CONS:

PRO:
-I've always wanted to be a member of the RCMP
-More specialized units to get into
-More possible job satisfaction

CON:
-Same pay basically, but I would take a paycut as I would start from the bottom
-More dangerous
-Loss of seniority
-The big one that I would have to most likely relocate from my current spot which is in my hometown

Thanks for the input!

John014
King Poobah

Re: CBSA to RCMP

Postby John014 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:14 am

100% without a doubt the best decision I ever made. There is not a single thought that I ever made the wrong decision. Also the only shit pay you will be getting will be in Depot. Once out (as long as you are on LWOP throughout Depot) you will be making the RCMP salary closest to your current salary.

We also will be getting a union and our pay should go up. Once you jump ship and spend at least a week in this job you will realize why there should not be parity between the two.

Feel free to PM me.
If you choose Law Enforcement you LOSE the right to be unfit.

Police Officer

Borderwatchman
Lord of the Poobahs

Postby Borderwatchman » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:24 pm