Police Foundations

Discuss the educational and physical requirements, testing process and background phase involved in the hiring process. Includes the experiences and advice of current and past applicants. All agency application related questions belong here.
Nando1057
Rookie Member

Police Foundations

Postby Nando1057 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:05 pm

Hello, I'm new to this forum and I really appreciate all the information shared on this board. I am about to become permanent resident and I'm seriously considering a career in Law Enforcement (Police Officer). My background is in Management and Sales (used to work at a dealership in Service Department for several years in Miami). I am 32 years old, fluent in Spanish, good and experienced in computers and excellent customer service. My questions would be (since I don't have a college degree): would Police Foundations be a benefit to myself as a college education and to pursuit a Law Enforcement career and not a waste of time?
I have read that the recruiters value higher education and personal maturity but after reading all the comments about the PF diploma it gets a little confusing. The second question is: if taking Police Foundations is a benefit for me, which colleges are recommended in the GTA?
Thanks,
Nando....

Roofus
Rookie Member

Re: Police Foundations

Postby Roofus » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:10 pm

Well this should be interesting... :popcorn:

read around this forum, there is plenty of info on PF courses.

darwin
Rookie Member

Postby darwin » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:25 pm

I agree with Argyll.

What if you are just dont make it through the process with any services, what will you do with that Police Foundations diploma?

That said, if you desire higher education take something you like and can turn into a career.

Example: A Social Work graduate can always find work in that field... and apply to be a cop if they want also. Doesnt work that same way for PF graduates.

Nando1057
Rookie Member