Small Business Owner

Discuss the educational and physical requirements, testing process and background phase involved in the hiring process. Includes the experiences and advice of current and past applicants. All agency application related questions belong here.
AlexandreK
Rookie Member

Small Business Owner

Postby AlexandreK » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:29 am

Hello everyone.

This is my first post on what looks like a great forum and I hope to learn more about the application and hiring process of LE.
I am currently a small business owner and I am looking at a career change. My question is: How would a prospective employer (in my case opp or wrps) look at an applicant who has a successful business and wishes to transition into LE.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Cheers

CourtOfficer
Site Admin

Re: Small Business Owner

Postby CourtOfficer » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:18 am

It's all in how you can explain that you've acquired the necessary competencies through your business. This should be easy. I'm sure you have lots of experiences to draw from.

CO

AlexandreK
Rookie Member

Postby AlexandreK » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:31 am

Perhaps I can provide a little more information about myself to make it easier to answer my question.

I am a 27 year old male with a OSSD, also engaged and have a 7 year old daughter. I have successfully started and operated a construction company for the past 3 years. Prior to that I was a general machinist.
Also this might be of importance I was born in Moldova and immigrated to Canada in 1995. I also speak Romanian, Russian and English

fox
Rookie Member

Postby fox » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:39 am

Alot of people who apply for a job in law enforcement are doing so because they want a career change, its nothing new to recruiting departments....they see this all the time.

AlexandreK
Rookie Member

Postby AlexandreK » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:40 am

Thanks for your reply CO.