RCMP and CAF

Discussion regarding human resource management.

Moderators: Respond Wayne, Pete Broccolo, opp2, CourtOfficer

RMAV
Rookie Member

RCMP and CAF

Postby RMAV » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:38 am

Hi all,

I'm nearing the end of my application process with the RCMP and I would appreciate some insight.

While I'm currently working as a lawyer in solo practice, my plan was always to work in public service. I have prior service in the military as an Infantry Officer, but released years ago to complete law school. I do miss the Army and I've been debating a return to the CAF as a Legal Officer, but I'm attracted to the idea of not always sitting at a desk - an idea which led me to the RCMP.

The research I've done online has shown that many RCMP members are far from satisfied with their career choice, although a lot of the information I've found is dated.

For example, the following thread is quite eye-opening:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=17586
I used to be an officer in CF as well and approx 8 yrs ago while in Bosnia decided to give the RCMP application process a go. Here's why and how I feel now with 6 yrs on with RCMP.

I loved the CF, I loved the comaraderie, the brotherhood, the bonds. I was single though and I worked, trained, ate, partied, etc...with the boys, I'm sure you know what I mean. It's a strong bond, unlike no other. But, I was a little bit bored at times, budget cuts meant less field time and more admin behind a desk as an officer. By the time Rotos 5-7 in Bosnia hit, that tour was getting a little boring for sure. I was also hearing stories about police officers dying in the line on duty and I really held PO's up high on pedestal as heroes for what they did day in and day out. Back then (pre-Afghanistan) very few Cdn soldiers were dying in the line and I didn't really see the two occupations as comparable.