LED Flashlights

Discussion, ideas, and questions in various types of police equipment, clothing and uniforms.
Banned
Rookie Member

LED Flashlights

Postby Banned » Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:35 am

I am sure this issue has probably been done to death but I couldn't find the answer I was looking for (not saying it wasn't there though).

I am interested in switching to an LED flashlight but am wondering if they are any good long range. I have been using my Stinger since 1993 and am not dissapointed (obvious I guess as I've kept it for 15 years). I like the white light that the LEDs produce but spend a lot of my time in fields etc. and am wondering if the new led lights are any good at long distances or if I need to stick with Xenon flashlights for that??

Your input would be very helpful.
I didn't say it would be easy - I said it would be worth it: Art Williams

Pete Broccolo

Re: LED Flashlights

Postby Pete Broccolo » Sun Jul 06, 2008 3:22 pm

Banned wrote:I am sure this issue has probably been done to death but I couldn't find the answer I was looking for (not saying it wasn't there though).

I am interested in switching to an LED flashlight but am wondering if they are any good long range. I have been using my Stinger since 1993 and am not dissapointed (obvious I guess as I've kept it for 15 years). I like the white light that the LEDs produce but spend a lot of my time in fields etc. and am wondering if the new led lights are any good at long distances or if I need to stick with Xenon flashlights for that??

Your input would be very helpful.

If you buy the HP up-grade for your Stinger, you COULD buy a TerraLux TLE-HP3 emitter for Streamlight HP or Ultrastinger.

My Coporal is very happy with his Pelican 7060.

My Mag 2 D with TerraLux TLE-300M for Maglite 4 to 6 D-sized lights, running on 2 x 18650 cells, performed extremely well this weekend, but DOES get warm.

I have read good things about the Fenix TK10 and TK11, but have yet to handle one.