Former Paramedic pursuing new career

Ideas in police education and training. Discussion for programs such as police foundations, law & security, criminology, police college training, etc.
Medic548
Rookie Member

Former Paramedic pursuing new career

Postby Medic548 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 8:33 pm

Hello everyone and thank you in advance. Long time reader and first time poster. I am looking for some insight/advice, here is a quick backstory...

I have always been interested in emergency services and the type of work that we hope to do and perform. I recently have relocated to Southern Ontario from Northern Ontario due to family reasons. I was employed as a Primary Care Paramedic while living in Northern Ontario but due to the need to relocate, I had to leave my position behind in good standing. I now currently work as a Developmental Support Worker while I explore new career paths. Obviously, given my history as a paramedic, I apply to EMS services in my immediate area to possibly continue that chapter in my life. I have been very interested in a Policing career since I was young and am now more than ever interested in applying. My question is if relevant emergency service experience is in fact an asset when applying to police positions/cadet programs? Should I consider more post-secondary education? I currently posses a college certificate and diploma. Is directly applying to complete the ATS testing the next best thing to consider doing? Perhaps others have gone through a similar change with similar backgrounds that could shed some light. Again, thanks for the time.

th
Veteran Member

Re: Former Paramedic pursuing new career

Postby th » Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:06 pm

You have two years of post-secondary and a boatload of really relevant life experience. I wouldn't bother going back to school unless you had a very specific goal in mind.
:wave:

Adamv993

Postby Adamv993 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:02 pm