Should I get my Masters before applying?

Ideas in police education and training. Discussion for programs such as police foundations, law & security, criminology, police college training, etc.
alrazavi
Rookie Member

Postby alrazavi » Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:01 pm

Hi guys,
this is my first post, nice to meet you all.

I had a question and was wondering if someone here could give me some advise.

I am 21 years old and am currently finishing my 3rd year undergrad at the University of Toronto. I am majoring in Psychology and double minoring in Sociology and Philosophy. I am conversationally proficient in Farsi, German, English and Spanish. I would consider myself fit and I do work out 4 days a week, but I am not really the most muscular guy in the gym; I am average compared to the other guys that are my age. Also I have run 10km in less than 60 minutes before on several occasions,but I would still not consider myself a marathon runner either. If everything goes well, I will graduate and receive my bachelor of science in about 2 years from now.

My question is: I really want to receive a Masters degree in Social Psychology afterwards, but I was wondering whether it is smart to do it before I look into applying for a job as a Law Enforcement Officer. My wish is to join the Toronto Police Department. I should add that I am a Permanent Resident, not a Canadian Citizen.

If anybody has some suggestions, comments or other general recommendation, please let me know I would truly appreciate.

Thanks guys!

Sorry I forgot to add: I have been working in sales now for 5 years (Comission Sales Person) and also have done some volunteer work within my university as a Frosh Group Leader and as part of my Fraternity with the Canadian Blood Services (Blood Donor Clinics and Stem Cell registration events)

GPZ
Grand Poobah

Re: Should I get my Masters before applying?

Postby GPZ » Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:01 pm

If you want to be an academic, be an academic.