"Extras"

Ideas in police education and training. Discussion for programs such as police foundations, law & security, criminology, police college training, etc.
wannabe fuzz
Rookie Member

"Extras"

Postby wannabe fuzz » Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:05 pm

So my story is that after 16 years of pulling wrenches as a Heavy Duty mechanic, I want to do something new. I am now 30 years old, with 1 college diploma and 1 college certificate (all relavent to my trade). I have sent in my application to my local PD, but would like to continue educating myself with some "extra" courses that may help me stand out from the other applicants. Some courses I am considering, that have some relevance to policing (some may be a stretch).

1) EMR (Emergercy Medical Responder) (AKA, glorified first aider, approx 100 hour course, plus 100 hours home study)
2) Various criminal justice, law, policing courses avilable through distance learning (I still need to work)
3) Child car seat installer/inspector certification (came up with this when my wife took her vehicle to the local health unit to get inspected after we installed it and it was an officer who inspected it, also thought it would be good to have as our first is due in 1 week)
4) Anger management (not that I have anger issues, just to see things from another perspective)

I would like to know if any of the officers on this board feel some or any of these would be relevant to thier day to day duties, or would I be wasting my time/money.

Thanks.

Tango5
Rookie Member

Re: "Extras"

Postby Tango5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:00 pm